Ernest Nash April 26, 2016

Heard about a track day at Pitt Meadows Race Track in Pitt Meadows, BC, just outside Vancouver area. Registered for the next track day available, Sunday, 24 April 2016. When looking into this track day, found that it is geared towards all level of riders and bikes. I also took away from my reading that the aim is to have you experience a race track environment without being on the road. For me, I wanted to learn more about cornering techniques and how to apply these on a touring bike.

On the morning that I arrived, there were lots of sport bikes, adventure bikes, and the likes, but only one touring bike - my '85 LTD. Lights have to be taped as well as mirrors – a Honda GoldWing has a lot of lights. Reduces distractions and the course staff want you to focus on what is in front of you. Those behind you are responsible to follow course rules and not hit you. There is a bike safety inspection that is quite strict. I spent the better part of an hour correcting an issue before I was allowed to do the track day.

Once the Track brief was given, it was on to the riding part of the day. Advice and critique of your riding is given during the day and as your speed increased. I had a good time, continually improving my line and speed with the help of the track staff.

Some of the benefits I received from this track day are:

1. Only have to be concerned with what is in front of you while training.
2. Getting used to coming into a corner "hot" and braking, then "diving" into the corner. Knowing that you are able to do this and still make the corner.
3. Getting used to leaning the bike in a corner to an extreme (different for each person), and knowing that the bike still has lots of traction and will not slide out from under you.
4. Knowing that until you hear the foot peg slider you still have lots of room to lean the bike over.
5. Knowing that when you hear the foot peg slider you still have a bit of room left.
6. If the track is wet, learning that cornering, slowing and accelerating on a wet surface still works - just have to be smooth on and off the throttle.

...more
Ernest Nash    April 26, 2016   

Heard about a track day at Pitt Meadows Race Track in Pitt Meadows, BC, just outside Vancouver area. Registered for the next track day available, Sunday, 24 April 2016. When looking into this track day, found that it is geared towards all level of riders and bikes. I also took away from my reading that the aim is to have you experience a race track environment without being on the road. For me, I wanted to learn more about cornering techniques and how to apply these on a touring bike.

On the morning that I arrived, there were lots of sport bikes, adventure bikes, and the likes, but only one touring bike - my '85 LTD. Lights have to be taped as well as mirrors – a Honda GoldWing has a lot of lights. Reduces distractions and the course staff want you to focus on what is in front of you. Those behind you are responsible to follow course rules and not hit you. There is a bike safety inspection that is quite strict. I spent the better part of an hour correcting an issue before I was allowed to do the track day.

Once the Track brief was given, it was on to the riding part of the day. Advice and critique of your riding is given during the day and as your speed increased. I had a good time, continually improving my line and speed with the help of the track staff.

Some of the benefits I received from this track day are:

1. Only have to be concerned with what is in front of you while training.
2. Getting used to coming into a corner "hot" and braking, then "diving" into the corner. Knowing that you are able to do this and still make the corner.
3. Getting used to leaning the bike in a corner to an extreme (different for each person), and knowing that the bike still has lots of traction and will not slide out from under you.
4. Knowing that until you hear the foot peg slider you still have lots of room to lean the bike over.
5. Knowing that when you hear the foot peg slider you still have a bit of room left.
6. If the track is wet, learning that cornering, slowing and accelerating on a wet surface still works - just have to be smooth on and off the throttle.
7. Knowing that you can trail brake into and through a corner, and still get through.
8. Getting used to entering corners at different angles - some I liked, some I did not.
9. Gaining confidence in my cornering ability and that of the bike as well.

In my mind there is a difference between knowing that the above is true, and actually doing and experiencing it.

Ride Safe!
Ernest Nash
Victoria, BC

Frank July 7, 2014

I have to say, being the only time I had ridden a wet track, it was well worth it. I'm one of those prissies that never goes for a ride if its raining out, unless I know its going to clear up. Showing up at the track @ noon, and seeing puddles, I was like "Grrrr", No-Fun-Day? I say FK it, and go out. Yes, its a little intimidating. Yes, it takes longer for you to increase your corner speed. Yes, you need to have a surgeons right hand managing the throttle and brake, but your lines are pretty much the same (and we all know its all about your lines), and the thrill is the same. Sure the tires squirmed a few times, but that's good practice. I had a great day, and thanks to Randy/Nancy for the opportunity to be a safety rider (or Safety Squid as Jay says). Everyone was riding extremely well, no issues with unsafe riding, just the occasional rider who needed to tighten their lines, particularly when setting up and entering a corner. A big shout out to Claudia who was tireless in her efforts to sweep/move puddles to make the track more enjoyable, all while bikes were wizzing around her.

Amanda April 25, 2016

Thanks for an amazing day Randy and Nancy. Doing a track day is highly recommended for all riders, I'm a newbie and will definitely come again. Thanks Catherine for giving me tips and letting me follow your lines. And thanks to rising sun for sorting my excessive tire pressure which definitely sorted out my I'll feeling of sliding out on a lean and gave me way more stick/traction. See you all again soon! More things to buy, I now need race leathers, expensive hobby but so much fun!

Catherine September 21, 2014

Nancy, Randy, Don, Ted, Spero, and all the other volunteers & safety riders - Thank you so much for a stellar final day of PMTD Track season this year. Your hard work, good humour, and tenacious commitment to making this a better, safer world is greatly appreciated. Y'all have had a very positive impact on my life and add an interesting dimension to my already rich life. Thank you for the Type 1 Fun! Sign me up for next year! Thank you. ~ Catherine

Ricky April 25, 2016

Awesome day, everything was set up so well, the track was perfect. All the staff and coaches were very kind and professional. Props to the guy who made that pulled pork! Was delicious! Can't wait for the next track day

Khai August 6, 2014

Thanks very much to Nancy, Randy, Spero, and all the volunteers who came out to make this (and all of these) day(s) possible. This was my 2nd track day ever, and with just over a year of street riding under my belt I was able to repeatedly get my knee down in the final session. I wasn't even trying for it but with Spero's expert coaching it just happened! Also thanks to Blair for letting me demo the MiniGP bike - that thing is a hoot! I've just cleared my schedule for Labour Day and will definitely be coming back for more.

Steve August 5, 2014

Another fabulous day, thanks everyone. See you all September 1st. +1 on Spero's coaching. That's top notch training at a ridiculously low price. I'll be signing up with him again at some point. It's well worth doing once a year at least IMO.

Betty Olsen May 30, 2016

My first track day ever, and I had lots of fun. Very well run and a huge thanks to all who work hard to make it that way. Everyone was very approachable and knowledgeable. I've only had my current bike for about a month so this was a great opportunity to get a better feel for it, and I think that my riding improved by the end of the day.
At first I felt a little bit intimidated by all the male riders, some obviously very talented. But all the riders I talked to, regardless of level, were friendly and nice, even though I was a novice, and female. 😊
I also really enjoyed watching all the other riders during the day. I plan to attend many, many more track days. Thanks to all!

Steve April 20, 2015

Don’t miss out on another Pitt Meadows track day because you think you aren’t ready, aren’t fast enough, don’t have the right type of bike etc. Don't let the term "track day" intimidate you. This event is suitable for any rider, any motorcycle, and any skill level. If you have a class 6 license, a motorcycle in good repair and riding gear you are ready! Riders are split into groups based on experience and skill level so you will be in a group of riders just like you!

Never been to a track day? Guess what...? There will be a whole group of people there that have never been to a track day! All of the riders that are new to the track will receive coaching before and after their riding sessions to help them get the most out of their day.

Some riders have this weird idea that if you go to a track day you will crash your bike and it makes no sense. If you ride within your comfort level why would you be more likely to crash just because you are on a closed course? Do some riders cash? Yes, but some people are there to push their limits. There are passing rules in effect to help ensure riders don’t crash into each other in the event of a mishap. If “track day”really meant “crash your bike day” I wouldn’t go either!

There is never any pressure to ride any faster than you want to go, BUT on the other hand you can go as fast as you like and there will be no speeding tickets issued and no bikes will be impounded.

I’ve taken a number of apprehensive riders to their first Pitt Meadows track day and every one of them said it was one of the best days they have spent on a motorcycle in their life.

Darren August 16, 2016

Thank you so much Nancy and Randy for a fantastic track day. I have been to other tracks with other bikes and i think the PMTD is the best warm up event for new riders or guys like me who just wanna learn their bike. Randy's personalized approach really made a difference to me. He does a lot to put your mind at ease so that you can focus on having fun. It is amazing how much Randy can pick up just by watching you do a few laps. His advice afterwards totally made sense to me. I'm looking forward to putting it into practice at my next event.

Peter Ip June 23, 2015

July 12th-2015 track day is just around the corner boys and girls, if you haven't try it yet the time is ripe . I've done 16 Pitt Track Days since 2011 and I'm still hooked! I thought I was a hot dog rider way back then, after my first session I swallowed my pride and realized I had a lot to learn. I feel my riding skills have improved by leaps and bounds! I even managed to scrape my knee pucks the last 3 track days and I am 52 years old! I owe all my grins and smiles to Randy, Nancy and the rest of the gang. The atmosphere is always relaxed and friendly. It's not racing, you are trying to improve your skills and have fun! So what are you waiting for?

Submit a Testimonial:
(Email address will not be published)




HTML Allowed : a p br i em strong q h1-h6
Verification Captcha
* Required

Close
loading...